A Superwoman and her superfoods

I hate to admit it but lately I feel like my energy has been zapped. From planning weddings, traveling home to see my new niece and keeping the house running, my workout routine has been struggling to stay a top priority. With that said, this will be a short but sweet post to help all brides and superwomen out there gain back some energy by revamping your diet.

And what better time to clean out your refrigerator and cabinets than Spring cleaning?

Here we go with my top 10 super foods to add to your next grocery list:

1. Lean chicken (take that skinny bitch diet).
Lean protein helps rebuild muscles and get you ready for your next sweat sesh.

2. Which came first, the chicken or the egg?
In this list, I guess technically the chicken but that was more personal preference. Eggs are important because their protein is filling and will help you eat less throughout the day. Remember the saying: eat breakfast like a queen, lunch like a princess and dinner like a pauper.

3. Say man, want some salmon?
I was not a big salmon eater until about a year ago. Go to Whole Foods and buy the low fat dill spread if you can’t tolerate the taste of the fish on its own. Once used to it, you will be nixing the spread in no time. Salmon is rich in omega-3 fatty acids. Eating it two or three times a week safeguards the heart and reduces the risk of heart attacks. Other studies link omega-3s to treating depression and arthritis.

4. An apple a day…
My husband eats an apple before every dinner and I swear the saying is true because he never gets sick! They are packed full of antioxidants, especially vitamin C for healthy skin and gums – one apple provides a quarter of your daily requirement of vitamin C. An apple is also a carbohydrate with a low glycaemic index (GI). Low GI foods are digested slowly; once they are finally broken down in the intestine they are gradually absorbed into the bloodstreams as glucose, causing a rise in blood sugar levels.

5. Berry-good for you.
Berries are a rich source of phytonutrients and antioxidants, both of which protect cells from damage and mop up free-radical molecules that lead to cancer and premature aging.

6. Avocado.
The delicious healthy monounsaturated fat in the avocado is one of its biggest SuperFood health claims. The only other fruit with a comparable amount of monounsaturated fat is the olive. The monounsaturated fat in avocados is oleic acid, which may help lower cholesterol.

7. Popeye was right!
Spinach has more than 100% of vitamins K and A just for starters. It contains more than half the daily requirements for folate and manganese. Spinach has a special concoction of flavonoids, 13 to be exact, which all work together to help slow a number of cancers including breast cancer. If that wasn’t enough to make it a super food, spinach does more. It is a brain food; it’s been associated with improved brain function. Improved eyesight, energy, improved gastrointestinal function are just a few more of this super food’s abilities.

8. Beans – really are magical.
Virtually all types of beans are nutrient powerhouses, high in antioxidants that incapacitate cell-damaging free radicals implicated in causing cancer and Alzheimer’s. Beans also help prevent obesity, a leading cause of heart disease and diabetes.

9. Aww nuts!
Nuts contain a host of nutrients including protein, fibre, calcium, iron, selenium, magnesium and vitamin E. Plus, most of the fat in nuts comes from heart-healthy monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fats.

10. And my favorite….red wine!
Red wine is loaded with polyphenols and antioxidants that protect against cancer, heart disease and age-related memory loss. Wines made from Tannat or Malbec grapes usually contain the highest polyphenol levels. Red wine also contains resveratrol, a compound studies suggest activates genes that slow cellular aging.

About Amanda Marie Goetz

Growing up on a farm in Central Illinois, I always had a love for people and the outdoors. I dreamt of the day that I could build my life around helping others. I was lucky to meet my husband, Matthew, while getting my marketing degree at the University of Illinois. I was an ACE certified group fitness instructor during college and really found a passion in helping my clients achieve their fitness and weight goals, all while laughing at my corny jokes and just having fun! I knew that I would never be able to stray far from the fitness world. After years of planning corporate events in Chicago, I decided that a move to New York would truly allow me to dive in to the wedding industry. I currently plan weddings all over the US and abroad and am studying to get my ACE Personal Training certification so I can soon train couples and help them achieve their fitness goals while planning their special day. I love what I do and am blessed to meet such amazing people along the way. - Amanda Marie Goetz
This entry was posted in Healthy eating, Nutrition, Uncategorized, Wedding and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

