It’s a piece of cake! Or is it?

Happy Monday! It is a rainy day in NYC and I have to confess, there has to be some type of correlation with rain and my sweet tooth. So when I woke up this morning and cuddled with Daisy, all I could think about was wedding cakes. I find that brides fall in to one of two categories: The first group says “I don’t care what it tastes like, I just want it to be grand and tall and spectacular looking.” The second group, “It could be the most simple looking thing as long as the flavors are out of this world.”

My wedding cake from 2007

 

 

I happened to be fall in to the second category. I focused more on the inside flavoring (pound cake with a whipped cream and fresh cut strawberry filling – see pic to the left).

 

 

 

There are a couple of trends right now in the wedding cake department and here are my  favorites:

– Mini me!
The individual guest wedding cake adds a touch of luxury and the right amount of over the top-ness to any reception. It also allows you to have multiple cake flavors however this trend may not be as sweet on a tight budget. My tip: Have a wedding cake with only the bottom layer being real so you can cut the cake in front of everyone. Once that is done, have the catering staff take that cake away and then bring out mini cakes for each guest to enjoy.

– Feast your eyes!
Many couples can’t decide on just one dessert or may not be a fan of cake in general so it is time to turn the spotlight on, drumroll please, dessert bars! This allows you to keep guests up and moving and let them grab their favorite sweet tooth remedy.

– The new LBD of wedding cakes..
Making a consistent appearance at wedding receptions everywhere is the cupcake tower. I like to see a great combination of designed cake stands with simple cupcakes. This is another great way to get your favorite couple of flavors in front of your guests.

About Amanda Marie Goetz

Growing up on a farm in Central Illinois, I always had a love for people and the outdoors. I dreamt of the day that I could build my life around helping others. I was lucky to meet my husband, Matthew, while getting my marketing degree at the University of Illinois. I was an ACE certified group fitness instructor during college and really found a passion in helping my clients achieve their fitness and weight goals, all while laughing at my corny jokes and just having fun! I knew that I would never be able to stray far from the fitness world. After years of planning corporate events in Chicago, I decided that a move to New York would truly allow me to dive in to the wedding industry. I currently plan weddings all over the US and abroad and am studying to get my ACE Personal Training certification so I can soon train couples and help them achieve their fitness goals while planning their special day. I love what I do and am blessed to meet such amazing people along the way. - Amanda Marie Goetz
This entry was posted in Cakes, Uncategorized, Vendors, Wedding, Wedding planning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

