Prepare the kilts…tomorrow is St. Patty’s day!

My mother is one of eleven. Nine girls and two boys were born to my Grandma and Grandpa O’Brien. They were your typical Midwest Irish Catholic family. There is even a stained glass window for ‘The O’Brien family’ at the small church near the family farm. I remember going to my grandparent’s house every Sunday when the family would get together for dinner. This happened to be  a very feasible commute considering my parents built our house 4 miles down the road from the family farm.

Back of my parents house

Traffic jam in central Illinois

I didn’t realize until the age of 12 that it is really not normal to have 50 first cousins and that hide-and-go-seek in a chicken coup is actually quite disgusting. Regardless, I am now a adult old woman flying from NYC to Chicago so that I can take part in what my family equates to most people’s holiday celebration: St. Patty’s day.

I hope that everyone is safe and irish tomorrow. Don’t forget to count that beer as a great carb load and plan a nice long run on Friday 🙂

And as my Grandpa Daniel O’Brien used to say, “Wherever you go and whatever you do, may the luck of the Irish be there with you.”

About Amanda Marie Goetz

Growing up on a farm in Central Illinois, I always had a love for people and the outdoors. I dreamt of the day that I could build my life around helping others. I was lucky to meet my husband, Matthew, while getting my marketing degree at the University of Illinois. I was an ACE certified group fitness instructor during college and really found a passion in helping my clients achieve their fitness and weight goals, all while laughing at my corny jokes and just having fun! I knew that I would never be able to stray far from the fitness world. After years of planning corporate events in Chicago, I decided that a move to New York would truly allow me to dive in to the wedding industry. I currently plan weddings all over the US and abroad and am studying to get my ACE Personal Training certification so I can soon train couples and help them achieve their fitness goals while planning their special day. I love what I do and am blessed to meet such amazing people along the way. - Amanda Marie Goetz
This entry was posted in Family, Irish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

